north carolina career development association

Log in


NCCDA values the work our members do each day to facilitate career development for students and professionals across North Carolina. Each year we recognize the outstanding work of members at our annual conference. Descriptions of these awards are below and we encourage all members to consider nominating their colleagues.


Awards Video 2020

New Professional Award

The New Professional Award recognizes an individual in North Carolina who has made a significant contribution to career development and has been in the profession for 5 years or less. The recipient would be an individual who in their early years of practice has shown unusual skill and promise of outstanding future accomplishments and has demonstrated evidence of meritorious service to the career development profession and/or NCCDA.


Wesley Wade

NC STATE University

Outstanding Professional or Program Award

The Outstanding Professional or Program Award recognizes either a mid-level professional or a new program. The outstanding professional award recognizes individuals with 5+ years in the profession who consistently and significantly contributes to the career development profession through dedicated service to their clients or students, mentorship and support for fellow career professionals, and a personal commitment to staying current with new research and best practices in the field. The outstanding program award recognizes an innovative program, initiative, or intervention that has a clear purpose and demonstrated impact related to career development. Programs may be the work of a single individual, an office or team, or a collaborative effort across key stakeholders across a community. If a team or office is nominated, at least one member must be an active member of NCCDA.

2020 Outstanding Professional Award Winner

Emily Gomez

Hire Heroes USA

Roy N. Anderson Award

The Roy N. Anderson Award recognizes an individual in North Carolina who has made an outstanding contribution to career development, both in the state and at the regional or national levels over an extended period of time. This award, affectionately known as “The Roy”, is named for the founding professor of the North Carolina State University Counselor Education Program.

2020 Roy N. Anderson Award Winner

Christy Dunston

NC A&T State University

Awards Committee 

Courtney Gauthier:
Stacey Huffman:
Christy Walker:

North Carolina Career Development Association

Non-profit 501(c)6 status pending

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software